THE SMART PRECISION

ECO-EFFICIENT
BECAUSE SUSTAINABLE

Efficient and cost-effective control
through nondestructive measurement

FAQ

  • THICKNESS MEASUREMENT

  • MEASUREMENT OF DOWEL POSITION

1. How does thickness measurement using pulse induction work?

A current-traversed coil is used to generate a time-dependent magnetic field, the “emission”field.

This pulsed magnetic field induces eddy currents in an antipole (e.g. a circular plate), and these in turn generate a time-dependent magnetic field: the so-called “response” field.

The measuring probe contains several sensors that record the response field in its time course. The acquired data can be analyzed to accurately determine the distance between the antipole and and the sensors.

To top

2. Are reflectors required for measuring layer thickness with pulse induction?

Yes. An antipole is always required for layer thickness measurement with pulse induction. (See FAQ on measuring principle).

To top

3. Can the MIT-SCAN-T2 be used to measure layer thickness in existing roads that have no reflectors installed?

No. Unfortunately, this is not possible. The pre-placement of reflectors (antipoles) is a requisite of electromagnetic layer thickness measurement.

To top

4. Do the measurement reflectors need to be stuck fast with glue?

For layer thickness measurement according to the TP D StB 12 test specifications, it is necessary to install reflectors “in an undamaged state, fully planar and fixed undisplaceably”. If sheet metals are used as reflectors, the easy-to-use MIT plate adhesive, applied sparingly, can be used for fixing them. Further information on MIT plate adhesive can be found here: MIT plate adhesive

To top

5. May circular plates also be fixed to the base with a nail?

As specified in the TP D StB 12, aluminum circular plates should not be fixed to the base with a nail. Circular steel plates, on the other hand, can be fixed in their middle to the road base with a stainless steel nail (length: max. 5cm, diameter: max. 3mm).

To top

6. What is the MIT wheeled spacer for?

The TP D StB 12 (Point 2.2.6 Measurement) requires the thickness device’s functionality to be measured before starting the day’s first measurement. For this, first the layer thickness of an existing measuring site is determined by a simple measurement run. This measurement must then be repeated using a metal-free spacer that has a thickness of 3.5cm (± 1 mm). The device is ready for use, if the difference between both measurements equals the thickness of the spacer. The MIT wheeled spacer is a mobile, compactly built spacer.

 

 

 

To top

7. Does steel toecap footwear affect measurements?

Yes. All metallic objects such as steel toecaps in shoes, crash barriers and construction machines have an influence on the measurement result. Care must therefore be taken, that no metallic objects are present around the measuring probe within a radius of about 2 meters.

To top

8. How often does the thickness device need to be calibrated?

In line with TP D-StB 12, thickness measuring devices must be calibrated at yearly intervals by a BASt-authorized institution (calibration laboratory) and have a valid calibration certificate. According to TP D-StB 12 only the use of thickness measuring devices with a valid calibration certificate is permitted. The valid calibration certificate (available in the carrying case) and the calibration mark (attached on the measuring probe) are to be kept available at the construction site.

To top

9. Can measurement reflectors be self-made or self-cut?

The reflectors listed as approved in TP D StB 12 test specifications and the STLK (Catalogue of Standard Specification Texts), include aluminum foils as well as square, rectangular and circular sheet metals. They have been used for measurement of layer thickness for years and are reliable antipoles. Calibration data of the standardized reflectors are stored in the thickness measuring device, so users can achieve high measurement accuracy. The measuring system and the listed, officially approved reflectors form one technical electromagnetic thickness measurement entity.

In line with its quality assurance policy, MIT Mess- und Prüftechnik GmbH (MIT) validates the reflectors to ensure the required reliability and accuracy of the method.

Imitation or self-manufacturing of the measurement reflectors is not permitted. MIT shall assume no liability for any economic damages resulting from the use of imitated reflectors. Only with MIT's validated and method-harmonized measurement reflectors can accurate and reliable results be achieved. MIT equips the reflectors it has validated with a signet.

MIT also strongly advises against cutting aluminum foil from a roll. Trimming as a rule results in inaccurate reflector formats and thus deviating measurement outcomes. You should therefore only use pre-cut and manufacturer-validated foils.

To top

10. Is the upper or bottom surface of the measurement reflector relevant for determining layer thickness?

The measuring device calculates layer thickness based on the lower surface of the installed reflector, i.e. its contact surface with the base.

To top

11. Which of the thickness measuring device's components are subject to wear and should be checked regularly?

The thickness measuring device is robust and designed for use in various environments (such as on hot mix asphalt or when it rains).
The following parts however require a check-up from time to time:

- battery (its lifetime is generally four years)
- wheels (these need to be cleaned regularly, since deposits can affect measurement outcomes).

MIT offers practitioners a spare parts service tailored to their needs. We will gladly provide advice concerning the replacement of components and any required repairs in case of problems.

To top

1. Can the MIT-SCAN2-BT be used to measure all types of dowel bars?

This is possible, in principle. The device has to be calibrated for use with the type of dowels that are to be measured. MIT offers and can perform calibrations with all conventional dowel sizes.

To top

2. Is it possible to measure dowel types for which the device has not been calibrated?

If the device has not been calibrated for use with the installed dowels, the dowel positions cannot be calculated. A measurement can nonetheless be taken. The device visualizes the measured data (color chart) and general estimates of dowel positions can be made. 

To top

3. Is it also possible to measure dowel bars that are installed using baskets?

Currently, automatic calculation of dowel positions installed in baskets is not possible. In this case, as with not calibrated dowel bar types, visualization of the measured data (color chart) provides information on dowel positions. The user interprets the measurement signals.

To top

4. Can the positions of dowels be determined before the joint is cut?

Yes. As soon as the concrete is walkable, a measurement using the MIT SCAN2 BT system is possible. This measurement delivers important information that enables the user to control the joint line and, if required, correct the position of where the joint is to be cut.

To top

5. How long will it take to assess several joints?

Setting up the measurement system takes about ten minutes. The assembled rail system can be transferred as it is from joint to joint during the day of measurement taking. The actual time it takes to measure a joint is less than one minute. Transporting the rail system to the next joint and aligning it along the joint is simple and fast.

To top

6. Do users need the software MagnoProof?

The MagnoProof software evaluates all acquired measurement data and generates reports and graphs of the positions of all dowels of one measurement section. It is included with the delivery of the measurement system.

To top

7. The joint to be measured is longer than the rail system. Is it still possible to measure the joint?

There are two ways the joint can be measured in this case:

Measure the joint in two consecutive measurements. After the first measurement has been taken, shift the rails and then take a measurement of the second section.
The rail system can also be extended variably, so that longer joints can be measured in one run. These lengthening elements can be ordered separately.

To top

8. Which of the thickness measuring device's components are subject to wear and should be checked regularly?

Basically, the device's design is very robust. Yet, various of its parts are subject to wear:

  • The white sliders on the wheel-guided probe wear down after some time. This means the probe cannot be guided precisely over the rails. The sliders are available as spare parts and can be exchanged by the user.
  • Wheels showing wear may lead to false path measurement.
  • The battery integrated in the device should be exchanged within five years at the latest.
  • The measurement electronics are wear-free. However, it is recommended to have the manufacturer check the device every two years. This will ensure the system's measurement accuracy.

For users of our dowel position measuring system, we offer our demand-oriented repair and spare parts services. We will be happy to provide replacement advice and support, if required.

To top

9. Does steel toecap footwear affect measurements?

Even small metallic objects, such as steel toecaps in footwear can affect a measurement if they are present within a radius of less than one meter around the measuring device. While pulling the measurement device, the user must take care to keep a distance of at least one meter from the rail-guided probe. This is generally the case.

To top

10. May users replace the battery?

Yes. For this, only the housing cover needs to be removed.

To top

11. Does the dowel position measuring device have to be calibrated annually?

Annual calibration is currently neither mandatory, nor necessary. However, it is recommended to have the manufacturer check the device every two years. It includes a check of the electronics and hardware of the MIT-SCAN2-BT. This can ensure unrestricted functionality and accuracy of the measuring device.

To top

THE SMART PRECISION

Schnelligkeit
auf ganzer Linie

Zügiges Bestimmen von Schichtdicken
und Dübellagen in Asphalt und Beton

FAQ

  • Schichtdickenmessung

  • Dübellagenmessung

1. Wie funktioniert die Messung der Schichtdicke nach dem Puls-Induktionsverfahren?

Mit Hilfe einer von Strom durchflossenen Spule wird ein zeitabhängiges Magnetfeld, das Sendefeld, erzeugt.

In einem Gegenpol (z.B. eine Metallscheibe) werden durch das veränderliche Magnetfeld Wirbelströme induziert, die wiederum ein zeitabhängiges magnetisches Feld erzeugen: das so genannte Antwortfeld.

In der Messsonde befinden sich mehrere Sensoren, die das Antwortfeld in seinem zeitlichen Verhalten erfassen. Die aufgenommenen Daten lassen sich so auswerten, dass der Abstand des Gegenpols von den Sensoren genau bestimmt werden kann.

Nach oben

2. Benötigt man zum Messen der Schichtdicke nach dem Puls-Induktionsverfahren Reflektoren?

Ja, bei der Schichtdickenmessung nach dem Puls-Induktionsverfahren wird immer ein Gegenpol (Reflektor) benötigt. (Siehe Frage zum Messprinzip)

Nach oben

3. Lässt sich die Schichtdicke bei Bestandsstraßen ohne eingebaute Reflektoren mit dem MIT-SCAN-T2 vermessen?

Das ist leider nicht möglich. Die elektromagnetische Schichtdickenmessung setzt den Einbau von Reflektoren (Gegenpole) voraus.

Nach oben

4. Muss man die Messreflektoren festkleben?

Laut TP D StB 12 müssen Reflektoren zur Schichtdickenmessung „unbeschädigt, vollflächig und unverrückbar“ verlegt werden. Werden Bleche als Messreflektoren eingesetzt, kann zur Fixierung der MIT-Rondenkleber verwendet werden, der einfach und sparsam zu dosieren ist. Weitere Informationen zum MIT-Rondenkleber finden Sie hier: MIT-Rondenkleber

Nach oben

5. Dürfen Ronden auch mit einem Nagel an der Unterlage befestigen werden?

In der TP D-StB 12 ist festgelegt, dass Aluminium-Ronden nicht mit dem Untergrund vernagelt werden dürfen. Stahlronden dürfen mittig mit einem gehärteten Edelstahlnagel (Länge: max. 5 cm, Durchmesser: max. 3 mm) auf dem Unterbau der Straße fixiert werden.

Nach oben

6. Wozu dient der MIT-Kontrollwagen?

Die TP D StB 12 (Punkt 2.2.6 Durchführung) fordert die Funktionsüberprüfung des Schichtdickenmessgerätes vor Beginn der ersten Messung eines Messtages. Dazu wird mit einer einfachen Messfahrt die Schichtdicke an einer vorhandenen Messstelle ermittelt. Die Messung muss mit Hilfe eines metallfreien Abstandshalters mit 3,5 cm Dicke (± 1 mm) wiederholt werden. Das Messgerät ist einsatzbereit, wenn die Differenz beider Messungen der Dicke des Abstandshalters entspricht. Der MIT-Kontrollwagen dient als fahrbarer kompakter Abstandshalter.

Nach oben

7. Haben Arbeitsschutzschuhe mit Stahlkappen einen Einfluss auf die Messung?

Ja, denn metallische Gegenstände wie Stahleinlagen in Schuhen, Leitplanken und Baufahrzeuge beeinflussen das Messergebnis. Daher ist in Bezug auf die Messung darauf zu achten, dass sich im Umkreis von etwa 2 Metern rund um die Messsonde kein metallischer Gegenstand befindet.

Nach oben

8. Wie oft muss das Schichtdickenmessgerät kalibriert werden?

Schichtdickenmessgeräte müssen lt. TP D StB 12 einmal jährlich durch eine von der BASt (Bundesanstalt für Straßenwesen) anerkannte Einrichtung (Kalibrierstelle) überprüft und mit einem aktuellen Prüfzeugnis versehen werden. Lt. TP D StB 12 dürfen nur Schichtdickenmessgeräte mit aktuellem Kalibriernachweis zum Einsatz kommen. Das aktuelle Kalibrierzeugnis (untergebracht im Gerätekoffer) sowie die Kalibriermarke (angebracht auf der Sonde des Messgerätes) sind auf der Baustelle vorzuhalten.

Nach oben

9. Dürfen Messreflektoren selber hergestellt oder zugeschnitten werden?

Die TP D StB 12 und der Standardleistungskatalog (STLK) listen als zulässige Reflektoren Aluminiumfolien sowie viereckige, rechteckige und kreisförmige Bleche auf. Diese werden bei der Schichtdickenmessung seit Jahren als zuverlässige Gegenpole verwendet. Die Kalibrierdaten der standardisierten Messreflektoren werden im Schichtdickenmessgerät gespeichert, so dass der Anwender eine hohe Messgenauigkeit erzielen kann. Das Messsystem und die aufgelisteten sowie offiziell anerkannten Reflektoren bilden bei der elektromagnetischen Schichtdickenmessung eine technische Einheit.

Die MIT Mess- und Prüftechnik GmbH (MIT) überprüft die von ihr angebotenen Reflektoren im Rahmen ihrer Qualitätssicherung, um die geforderte Zuverlässigkeit und Genauigkeit des Verfahrens zu gewährleisten.

Messreflektoren dürfen nicht nachgeahmt bzw. selbst angefertigt werden. Die MIT übernimmt für etwaige wirtschaftliche Schäden durch die Verwendung nachgeahmter Reflektoren keine Verantwortung. Nur mit den auf das Verfahren abgestimmten und durch die MIT geprüften Messreflektoren lassen sich genaue und zuverlässige Messergebnisse erzielen. Die MIT versieht die von ihr geprüften Reflektoren mit einem Siegel.

Auch vom Zuschneiden der Aluminiumfolie von der Rolle rät die MIT dringend ab, da das Abkanten regelmäßig zu ungenauen Reflektor-Formaten und damit zu abweichenden Messergebnissen führt. Verwenden Sie daher nur vorkonfektionierte und vom Gerätehersteller geprüfte Folien.

Nach oben

10. Ist bei der Bestimmung der Schichtdicke die Oberseite oder die Unterseite des Messreflektors relevant?

Das Messgerät ermittelt die Schichtdicke ausgehend von der Unterseite des eingebauten Reflektors, also von der Auflagefläche auf dem Untergrund.

Nach oben

11. Welche Komponenten des Schichtdickenmessgerätes unterliegen dem Verschleiß und sollten regelmäßig überprüft werden?

Das Schichtdickenmessgerät ist robust und für den Einsatz unter verschiedenen Umweltbedingungen ausgelegt (etwa für den Einsatz auf heißem Asphalt oder bei Regen).
Folgende Teile sollten dennoch von Zeit zu Zeit überprüft werden:

- Akku (die Lebensdauer beträgt i.d.R. vier Jahre),
- Räder (diese sollten regelmäßig gereinigt werden, da Ablagerungen das Messergebnis beeinflussen können).

Die MIT bietet ihren Kunden einen auf die Anforderungen der Praktiker zugeschnittenen Ersatzteilservice an. Gerne beraten wir Sie zum Austausch von Komponenten sowie bei auftretenden Problemen über eine eventuell notwendige Reparatur.

Nach oben

1. Können mit dem MIT-SCAN2-BT alle Arten von Dübeln gemessen werden?

Grundsätzlich ist das möglich. Das Messgerät muss für die zu messende Dübelsorte kalibriert sein. Für alle gängigen Dübelgrößen können Kalibrierungen durch die MIT angeboten und durchgeführt werden. 

Nach oben

2. Können auch Dübelsorten gemessen werden, für die das Gerät nicht kalibriert worden ist?

Wenn das Gerät nicht für den verbauten Dübel kalibriert ist, kann keine Berechnung der Dübellagen erfolgen. Die Messung kann trotzdem durchgeführt werden. Anhand der Visualisierung der Messdaten (Farbkarte) können allgemeine Aussagen zu Dübellagen getroffen werden. 

Nach oben

3. Können in Körben verbaute Dübel gemessen werden?

Zurzeit können in Körben verbaute Dübel nicht automatisch berechnet werden. Wie auch bei nicht kalibrierten Dübelsorten liefert die Visualisierung der Messdaten (Farbkarte) Informationen zur Position der Dübel. Die Interpretation der Messsignale erfolgt durch den Benutzer.

Nach oben

4. Kann bereits vor dem Fugenschnitt die Lage der Dübel vermessen werden?

Ja, sobald der Beton betreten werden kann, ist eine Messung mit dem Messsystem MIT SCAN2 BT möglich. Mit Hilfe dieser Messung erhält der Anwender wertvolle Informationen, um die Fugenmarkierung gegebenenfalls zu überprüfen und die Position des Fugenschnitts anzupassen.

Nach oben

5. Wie schnell können mehrere Fugen gemessen werden?

Der Aufbau des Messsystems nimmt etwa zehn Minuten in Anspruch. Das Schienensystem wird im Laufe eines Messtages in aufgebautem Zustand von Fuge zu Fuge transportiert. Die eigentliche Messung einer Fuge ist in weniger als einer Minute erledigt. Der Transport zur nächsten Fuge sowie die Ausrichtung des Schienensystems an der Fuge sind einfach und schnell umzusetzen.

Nach oben

6. Benötigt der Anwender die Software MagnoProof?

Die Software MagnoProof wertet die aufgenommenen Messdateien aus und erstellt Berichte mit grafischen und numerischen Darstellungen aller Dübellagen eines Messabschnitts. Sie ist im Lieferumfang des Messsystems enthalten.

Nach oben

7. Die zu messende Fuge ist länger als das Schienensystem. Kann die Fuge trotzdem gemessen werden?

Die Fuge kann auch in diesem Falle gemessen werden, es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten:

  • Die Fuge wird anhand von zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Messungen erfasst. Nach dem Messen des ersten Abschnitts wird die Schiene verrückt, um anschließend den zweiten Abschnitt der Fuge zu messen.
  • Das Schienensystem kann aufgrund seiner Rohrsegmente beliebig erweitert werden, sodass auch längere Fugen zusammenhängend gemessen werden können. Die Erweiterungselemente können separat bestellt werden.

Nach oben

8. Welche Teile des Messgerätes unterliegen dem Verschleiß und sollten regelmäßig überprüft werden?

Grundsätzlich ist der Messwagen sehr robust aufgebaut. Dennoch unterliegen verschiedene Teile dem Verschleiß:

  • Die weißen Führungsgleiter am Messwagen nutzen sich nach einiger Zeit ab. Dadurch ist keine präzise Führung des Messwagens auf der Schiene mehr gegeben. Die Gleiter sind als Zubehör erhältlich und können vom Anwender selbst ausgetauscht werden.
  • Eine Abnutzung der Räder kann dazu führen, dass die Wegmessung verfälscht wird.
  • Der im Messgerät verbaute Akku sollte nach spätestens fünf Jahren ausgewechselt werden.
  • Die Messelektronik ist verschleißfrei. Dennoch wird empfohlen, das Messgerät alle zwei Jahre beim Hersteller überprüfen zulassen. Damit wird die Messgenauigkeit des Systems sichergestellt.

Wir bieten Anwendern unseres Dübellagenmesssystems einen am Bedarf orientierten Ersatzteilservice für Verschleißteile an. Gerne beraten und unterstützen wir Sie bei Bedarf bei deren Austausch.

Nach oben

9. Haben Schuhe mit Stahlkappen einen Einfluss auf die Messung?

Auch kleinere metallische Gegenstände wie z.B. Stahlkappen von Arbeitsschutzschuhen können eine Messung beeinflussen, wenn sie sich in einem Umkreis von weniger als einem Meter des Messgerätes befinden. Der Bediener muss beim Ziehen des Messgerätes darauf achten, dass er sich mindestens einen Meter vor dem Messwagen befindet. Das ist grundsätzlich gegeben.

Nach oben

10. Kann der Akku vom Anwender ausgewechselt werden?

Ja, dazu muss lediglich der Gehäusedeckel entfernt werden.

Nach oben

11. Muss das Dübellagenmessgerät jährlich kalibriert werden?

Eine jährliche Kalibrierung ist z.Z. weder vorgeschrieben noch notwendig. Allerdings wird empfohlen, das Messgerät alle zwei Jahre vom Hersteller überprüfen zu lassen. Dabei werden die Elektronik und die Hardware des MIT-SCAN2-BT überprüft. So können die uneingeschränkte Funktionalität und die Genauigkeit des Messgerätes gewährleistet werden.

Nach oben